College Round-up: St. John’s to open season agaginst Gonzaga

Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Get our stories in your inbox, free.

Like TimesLedger on Facebook.

The St. John’s men’s basketball team will face a familiar opponent to start the 2001-02 season as the Red Storm will take on the Gonzaga Bulldogs in the first round of the Great Alaska Shootout on Thanksgiving night. Tip-off is slated for 11 p.m. and will be televised live on ESPN.

The tournament begins a day earlier, Nov. 21, with a double-header as Indiana takes on Alaska-Anchorage and Marquette takes on Tennessee. The St. John’s game will be the final contest of the first round as Oregon State and Texas battle at 6:30 p.m. on Nov. 22. The two winners are slated to meet the following night at 6:30 p.m.

The championship game will be Saturday, Nov. 24, and will be televised live on ESPN at 9 p.m.

Gonzaga defeated the Red Storm 82-76 in the second round of the 2000 NCAA Tournament.

In addition to their three games at the Alaska Shootout, the Red Storm will face Manhattan, Hofstra, Fairfield, Wake Forest and Duke in non-conference games next season but will not play longtime rivals Georgetown or Syracuse in Big East play.

The conference announced, in addition to two games against division foes Boston College, Connecticut, Miami, Providence, Villanova and Virginia Tech, the Red Storm will host Notre Dame and West Virginia and play at Pittsburgh and Seton Hall in cross-over games. Dates, times and locations of games have not been released by St. John’s.

In other Red Storm basketball news, St. John’s assistant coach Mike Jarvis II has returned from his first stint as head coach as he led a group of college all-stars to a 4-2 record in exhibition games against Greek, Czech and Macedonian teams as well as Italian professional teams. St. John’s sophomore swingman Willie Shaw averaged 14 points per game. UCLA senior center Dan Gadzuric led the team in scoring, averaging 18 points per game.

St. John’s head coach Mike Jarvis is set to coach an all-star team in Greece in August. The team will be comprised of returning Red Storm players Mohamed Diakite and Shaw as well as newcomers Eric King and Marcus Hatten. Joining them will be Arizona’s Jason Gardner and Ricky Anderson as well as Al Anagonye and Adam Ballinger from Michigan State.

Deepdale’s Zahringer edges SJU’s Svoboda to win Ike Championship

George Zahringer III of Deepdale, who is the only player to win both the Met Open and the Met Amateur Championship in the same year in 1985, carded a five-under par 67 to win the 46th annual Ike Metropolitan Golf Associations/Met Life Strokes Play Championship at the Fairview Country Club in Greenwich, Conn. last weekend.

St. John’s junior golfer Andrew Svoboda finished second.

Svoboda, playing out of Winged Foot Country Club, fired a three-round score of one-under par 215, finishing two shots off the pace set by Zahringer.

Svoboda carded a two-under par 70 in the first round and was tied for the tournament lead with Zahringer and legendary amateur golfer Jerry Courville Jr. of Shorehaven. Another two-under par 70 during the morning round June 25 gave Svoboda a temporary lead, but he fired a three-over par 75 in the final round as Zahringer carded a five-under par 67 to claim the crown.

James to play professionally with Philadelphia Force

Former Newtown standout Brian James has been selected to play professional basketball with the Philadelphia Force of the National Rookie League, a league designed to be a showcase for players who are hoping to sign professional contracts overseas.

James, a 6-foot-1 guard, graduated as the third all-time scorer at Division II New York Institute of Technology. Holy Cross guard Chris Fileti will try and fill the void left by James as he has signed a letter of intent to play for Sal Lagano next year at New York Tech.

The NRL, made up of six teams on the East Coast, is limited to players 24-years-old and younger.

132 Red Storm Student-Athletes named Big East Academic All-Stars

The Big East Conference announced that 132 St. John’s student-athletes were named to the conference’s academic all-star team. Student-athletes must have maintained at least a 3.0 grade point average to be named to the team. St. John’s ranked seventh among the 14 Big East schools with 132 student-athletes honored.

The following is a list of the 132 student-athletes named to the 2001 Big East Academic All-Star team:

Baseball (20)

Charles Bilezikjian

John-Paul Cirigliano

Brian Dorsey

Chris Fallon

Jason Fischette

Jeffrey Ford

Marc Goldberg

Billy Grasier

Asa Grunenwald

Bryan Hedgecock

Greg Holmes

Kevin Hughes

Jonathan Kahn

Jason Kane

Vincent Mannese

Steve Pesce

Angel Resto

Michael Rozema

Henry Varum

Shane Zarzycki

Women’s Soccer (17)

Kristy Bergen

Theresa Bulman

Amber Carr

Jaime Clark

Heather Cook

Kristina Fogg

Maria Karis

Phyilis LaTour

Michele Lukianovich

Karyn Lundgren

Sarah Minnich

Claudine Morgan

Jennifer Pugsley

Lisa Rinaldi

Heather Shouldis

Marissa Stork

Jennifer Taylor

Men’s Soccer (14)

Chris Bennice

James Bentley

Omar Chavez

Matia Damiani

Alberto Duenas

William Gaudette

Patrick Lonergan

Jeff Matteo

Ernest Murdukhayev

Dave O’Donnell

Angel Rodriguez

Jeff Stoklosa

Paul Szewczyk

Chris Wingert

Men’s Track and Field (14)

Peter Alfano

Douglas Bradley

Benjamin Catziano

Blessing Chimwanda

Matt Cotter

Thomas Grandy

Ed Hausdorf

Andrew Jancaick

Mohamed Kanu

George Maringapasi

Philip McLean

Eric Stoddard

Sean Tremblay

Dietrich Washington

Softball (12)

Alesha Argeras

Cecilia Baston

Marilyn Brown

Michele Crokus

Jeanine Giammarino

Kelly Houghton

Brianna Leary

Courtney Nilan

Ann Raab

Danielle Sweeney

Lisa Tropea

Christine Wellington

Men’s Swimming (10)

Milos Cerovic

Karoi Ciechanowski

Gregory Danner

Jerrod Janes

Daniel Miyoshi

Danillo Perunovic

Thomas Rueger

Jaak Savvi

Michel Szapiel

Daniel Wells

Volleyball (10)

Alyssa Bak

Amanda Berg

Emily Blosser

Christie Brough

Meaghan Creedon

Tiffany Holder

Robyn Kurasaki

Stephanie Luehr

Kristy Mercein

Sterie Varghese

Women’s Swimming (9)

Jen Alger

Kristen Beal

Bernadette Gaddis

Carly Goepel

Melissa Kolackovsky

Elizabeth Mallnowski

Laura Nuudi

Denise Telford

Lisa Zuffante

Women’s Track and Field (7)

Renee Castelo

Roslyn Coddette

Erin Hayes

Jennifer Lebowitz

Lynn Medjuck

Tiehise Shell    

Kristyn Zajac

Women’s Basketball (6)

Crystal Bowen

Sladjana Cvijetic

Nora Gyuris

Eukeisha Iton

Katrina Johns

Latasha Thompson

Men’s Tennis (5)

Cameron Lore

John Maxwell

Brian Scharf

Erik Scharf

Nikhil Teppare

Women’s Tennis (4)

Connie Cetateanu

Vera Efstathiou

Carolina Miccolis

Vanessa Sanmartin

Golf (3)

Gary Blados

John DeForest

Andrew McKay

Men’s Basketball (1)

Curtis Johnson

Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Get our stories in your inbox, free.

Like TimesLedger on Facebook.

Reader Feedback

Enter your comment below

By submitting this comment, you agree to the following terms:

You agree that you, and not or its affiliates, are fully responsible for the content that you post. You agree not to post any abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening or sexually-oriented material or any material that may violate applicable law; doing so may lead to the removal of your post and to your being permanently banned from posting to the site. You grant to the royalty-free, irrevocable, perpetual and fully sublicensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, perform and display such content in whole or in part world-wide and to incorporate it in other works in any form, media or technology now known or later developed.

CNG: Community Newspaper Group